Thursday, July 12, 2007

Order for installing ruby gems locally

For installing ruby on rails basic framework when u dont have access to internet, you could follow the following order of installing gems...

Install Ruby

Install RubyGems

Install different gems

  1. Rake
  2. ActiveSupport
  3. ActionPack
  4. ActionMailer
  5. ActiveRecord
  6. ActionWebService
  7. Rails

Also found some more info on installation of rails when internet connection is actually available. Here's the source of info, the rails wiki site

  1. Installing Ruby
    1. sudo apt-get install ruby irb ri rdoc ruby1.8-dev build-essential
  2. Installing Ruby Gems
    1. sudo apt-get install rubygems
  3. Installing Rails
    1. sudo gem install rails -y
  4. Installing MySql
    1. sudo apt-get install libmysql-ruby mysql-server libmysqlclient15-dev
    2. sudo gem install mysql
Some more documentation on Ubuntu site

No comments:

Post a Comment